Cover Art

Puirt à beul

Recorded as a soundtrack to Mark's first photographic exhibition, this collection takes traditional or established Scottish tunes and reshapes them into ambient soundscapes. The title refers to a traditional form of song native to Scotland and other Gaelic-speaking countries, and translates literally as "tunes from a mouth".



01 The Rowan Tree (Carolina Nairne)
02 Lady Anne Bothwell's Lament (Joseph Corfe)
03 Cold Haily Rainy Night
04 Mairi Bhan Og
05 Niel Gow's Lament for the Death of His Second Wife (Niel Gow)
06 Fear a' Bhàta (Sìne NicFhionnlaigh)
07 The Shearin's No' For You
08 A Woman To Her Husband Killed At Culloden
09 Cailin Mo Ruinsa
10 The Deil's Awa Wi' Th' Exciseman (Robert Burns)
11 Henry Martin
12 Mo Shùil Ad Dhèidh
13 The Fallen Hero
14 The Highland Widow's Lament (Robert Burns)
15 Thug Mi Gaol
Performed, engineered and produced by 391 at Waterden Studios, Scunthorpe
All tracks Trad. arr. 391 except where indicated above